• @[email protected]
        link
        fedilink
        663 days ago

        persons. The spell allows polygamy. Also, no gender restrictions. You can marry all of your party into one big family, RAW. You may need to check the local laws, though.

        By the way, the spell does not allow for divorce - it’s strictly “till death do us part”.

        • @[email protected]
          link
          fedilink
          273 days ago

          I mean, with resurrection being possible I think divorces would be far less often.

          But especially in rich families there would probably be a lot of murdering and resurrecting, just to get out of some forced marriage.

        • @[email protected]
          link
          fedilink
          42 days ago

          It says you can’t benefit from it again unless widowed. Once someone is they can benefit from it as often as they want.

          Also, you could still marry someone else and have them benefit from it again.

          • @[email protected]
            link
            fedilink
            133 days ago

            No, the spell is only cast once, for all partners at the same time. “A creature can benefit from this rite again only if widowed”.

            • Iron Lynx
              link
              fedilink
              4
              edit-2
              3 days ago

              Does it stack though? If n people cast ceremony on a party, does that mean they get +2n AC?

              EDIT: I read the rules. And completely read over the latter part of your comment. “A creature can benefit from this rite again only if widowed.” 😢

              • @[email protected]
                cake
                link
                fedilink
                21 day ago

                Ok that brings the questions Can you marry, kill, and merry again for +4 ac

                I think you should be able too because that’s like a literal human sacrifice for +4 ac for just 7 days lol

              • threelonmusketeers
                link
                fedilink
                English
                31 day ago

                +2n AC

                Even if the rules worked that way, it would technically be +2(n-1) AC, since you don’t get any bonus from yourself.

                • Iron Lynx
                  link
                  fedilink
                  121 hours ago

                  Only if the casters are part of the group that’s being repeatedly wed. If the casters are all external, it’s +2n AC.

        • @[email protected]
          link
          fedilink
          32 days ago

          I once played a series of all-combat one shots, in which we could use the previous day to precast buffs. Every session we used that day to cast ceremony to make the party a polycule, until the DM banned it.

        • @[email protected]
          link
          fedilink
          73 days ago

          Wouldn’t the entire policule need to be close for them to get the bonus then? That doesn’t sound like the best tactical strategy.

          • @[email protected]
            link
            fedilink
            12 days ago

            It would generally be better to put them in pair-wise marriages, but when there’s a kaiju on the loose, you can’t wait multiple hours to cast it multiple times.

          • Adlach
            link
            fedilink
            English
            33 days ago

            You know what it doesn’t offer? Dex save bonuses. 🔥

        • @[email protected]
          link
          fedilink
          143 days ago

          A dungeons and dragons term for Armour class.

          It’s how you determine if an attack hits you.

          Say you have an AC of 15 and an attacker tries to hit you they roll a 15 or higher with a 20 sided dice it hits you. (Meets it beats it)

          However your opponent also can have boosts to to their attack say a magic weapon adds plus 1 or something so they could roll a 14 plus the 1 to reach 15 thus hitting you. Then they roll damage with another dice dependant on the weapon.

          So if the characters are then married they get a plus two to their AC and now have 17 and the 15 misses

        • @[email protected]
          link
          fedilink
          43 days ago

          you roll a d20 (20-sided dice) to attack someone or something. if the result is equal or higher than the AC (armor class) of whatever you hit, you succeed in hitting it